Friday, November 14

in case you hadn't noticed

I've continued on with my (very sporadic) posting over at the other site. I think I'll probably consolidate at some point, but then again, maybe not. If I get pregnant again (haha) I'll come back to here, but until then I'll just talk about all the kid stuff on the main page, since it's my page, and theoretically about my life, which involves the kids pretty heavily.

Friday, May 23

one month down...

I'm freaking exhausted. and Willow sleeps, most of the time. Kieran doesn't always. He's completely given up naps unless we drive somewhere, and then he will fall asleep within about 6 minutes of leaving the house. This generally means that he is a wreck by bedtime, which makes it harder for us to get him to bed, and leads to battles of "STAY IN BED! IT'S TIME FOR SLEEP!" versus "NO! DON'T WANT TO!" Good times. Willow, so long as she is fed and not dying of gas cramps, will go to sleep whenever, wake up to eat a couple of times overnight, and mostly go back to sleep. We're both big fans of the nursing in bed thing, although we both usually fall asleep during the process. Once we move and she's not in our room, that probably won't happen so much. I'm making Kieran sound like the bad guy here. He's totally not, he's just 3. Full of the deisre to be independent and do what he wants willy-nilly, but held back by the complete lack of logic and the fact that he still, a lot of the time, wants a good cuddle, and despite his best efforts to prove otherwise, he really needs us to be happy with him and gets really upset when he knows we're mad. He'll do something totally boneheadish, and then be crying because he didn't get his way, and all he wants in the world is for us to pick him up so he knows we forgive him. I'm a cruel bitch and won't do that right away, because I don't want him to get the message that you get cuddles and kisses for acting like an asshole. I always give in, but I make him stop crying like a maniac first. It's a compromise.

We're managing pretty well. We've had help most of the time, which makes certain things easier, but the times I've been home on my own with the 2 of them have gone pretty well. Kieran wants to hold Willow ALL THE TIME, but I'm confident he'll get over that as she gets bigger and able to do more, and the novelty wears off. I'm trying to teach him that if she's sleeping, crying, or eating, he can't, but he doesn't want to let those things interfere with his plans. He's even offered to feed her himself on more than one occasion. Sweet. Odd, but sweet. (sidebar, we tried a bottle the other night, and it did not go over well at all...) I drove to Halifax by myself with the 2 little ones, and it took longer because we had to stop to eat and settle a few times, but otherwise it was ok. We're heading back tomorrow, I'll let you know how that goes.

Anyhoo. Just wanted to check in and let whoever's out there know that we're still here! Doing well, and waiting for some kind of routine to settle in, because as sweet as this little girl is, she's totally random with her eating and sleeping. She does both a lot, but can eat every 20 minutes or every 6 hours, depending on ... something I haven't figured out yet. And there's no waking her up to eat or anything else. Well, we can wake her up, but it's not easy or pretty, and as soon as you stop harassing her / bathing her / poking her with sticks, she goes back to sleep immediately. Rough life!

Monday, May 5

the fun starts now

today is day one of me home with the 2 little ones. The bigger of the 2 has been super whiny and difficult and...3 lately, which has been a challenge with the 2 of us home, so it should be fun with just me. I'm foreseeing a lot of him spending time in his room, sadly, if he's going to be a jerk. The little one, 2 nights ago she ate constantly for about 3 hours, and then slept almost 6. I was fine with that. Last night, she ate constantly for about 2 hours, and didn't sleep any more than normal. And was awake for almost 2 solid hours starting at 2am. Which was less fun. So I'm a bit sleepy this morning. Which is normal for having a new baby, but if I can't complain to you, internet, who can I complain to? I'm very much looking forward to the time when she gets into some kind of routine with her eating, because we are not anywhere near there right now. It's very much a random thing, she may sleep for 3 hours, at which point I wake her up if it's daytime, or she may sleep for 1 hour, or 15 minutes. Regardless, she wants to eat when she gets up. There's no waking up to hang out for fun at this point.

Anyway. I'm going to spend some time with the big one while the little one naps.