Wednesday, December 19

well the dates, they are a changin

So, I have now 3 dates. Fun, I know. There's April 23, 26, and latest 27th. I'm fairly sure that the baby will choose to come whenever she darn well pleases, so I'm not putting too much focus on the exact dates. The doctors say the lmp date is more accurate, the ultrasound techs say the u/s date is more accurate, so...I pick the earlier one! I think u/s should be more accurate, especially early on, because even the most regular person can have a fluctuation of a couple of days here or there. It's pretty picky stuff though. Last time the u/s bumped me up a whole week, and my dr still wouldn't change my due date. Jerk. But again, not like it mattered in the end.

All else is well. My main worries from last time - the going overdue, the ending up on bedrest, and the crazy, so itchy I wanted to tear my skin off rash I got at the end and after Kieran arrived - have been alleviated. My ob said that I would likely deliver around my due date, that the itchy rash only occurs near the end and so I may have this baby before that happens, and that if I were to have whacks of those stupid fake contractions again, they would do a fetal fibronectin test, and if it were ok, they'd let me go about my business and get me to come back for another test in 2 weeks. I love that technology advances! She said where my body has shown that it will hold a pregnancy to term (and beyond...she actually chuckled as she reviewed my chart what with the bedrest and scheduled induction and all) that they wouldn't be nearly so cautious, esp if it were at 31 weeks or so again. I've scheduled my last day at work to be April 4th, which should give me some quality time with the boy and the house before the little one comes. I'm mainly referring to the baby as 'she', but there is always the off chance they were wrong, so I don't want to bet the farm, as it were. My friend Andrea just had her baby, a girl, a surprise since they weren't telling the sex when she had her u/s. They named her Ainslie Marion, which is a great name. It's close to a name I'm giving big consideration to. Or, have basically decided on, but am not telling everyone, because that's not as fun.

Anyway. I have to do dishes. They're never ending. It's so annoying. Work is almost done though, which is great. Christmas shopping is almost done, or almost as done as it's going to get.

2 comments:

Jenn said...

You don't have a dishwasher? (Named _____??) That's just madness!!!

Jallápenno said...

no. My husband / dishwasher is very unreliable, and often breaks down before it finishes the whole wash. Not very useful, sadly.