Sunday, August 15

yipes

so, I'm at the cottage, just me and my parents. Just me and my dad actually, right now. Mom went to a friend's 50th on the Island, and will be back later today. Anyway, obviously I haven't told them. I'm going to, I just haven't figured out how. I've been doing fairly well with not throwing up or anything, and since mom wasn't here last night she didn't notice that I wasn't drinking Mike's like I normally do. I ran some errands with Dad yesterday, we went to the Pork Shop and I had to try very hard not to barf on the nice people there. Nausea is coming and going, but it's definitely made worse by smells and / or thinking about food that's unappealing. Last time I was here, a few weeks back I guess since I didn't know at that point I was pregnant, we had a huge feed of ribs. Dad made them again for us last night and I ate 3. The 3rd one was very tricky. I ate all my salad, I seem to do much better with things like salad, sandwiches, soup. Real meals are still not holding any appeal, along with a lot of food. I can't say that I'm craving any specific foods so much as just trying to figure out what it is that I can eat that will make me feel good. Eating does help the nausea, but it's hard to find foods that aren't gross right now. Tonight we're having salmon and beets, and hopefully cucumber salad. Ordinarily, honestly, my favourite summer meal. Today, not so sure.

Things are still a bit tense at home, we're really trying to figure out how this is going to work. It's looking like the best plan is going to be me moving up to Fredericton in April, once I have the baby, and then most likely staying there. Assuming Grant is still working there, doing well and liking it. It does pose problems though, if he rents a place for now, he'll most likely get stuck in a year lease, and he'll be renting with somebody else. I doubt somebody else is going to be too pleased with me and an infant moving in come spring. We'll see.

So, as I said at the get-go here, I still have to tell my parents. I'm figuring this afternoon or evening. How exactly does one broach that subject? So...guess what! Dah. I'll let you know how it goes.

On a side note, my mom really wants us to get married. She's stopped being subtle about it. She figures if we can afford to live together, we can afford to be married. I told her it's not the *being* married, it's the *getting* that's the issue, these things cost money. She said, as if this should have been clear to me, that she and my dad would pay for the wedding. Good news. She said not like $100k or anything, (as if I'd want that, ack), but yeah. I told her I'd pass that along.

No comments: