well, not done *that*, clearly, or I wouldn't be posting just yet, but done one thing that makes me feel better. I got the baby's room all organised and put away, except for a couple of boxes of my clothes that we'll have to deal with at some point. Grant's dad is coming up to paint on either Thursday or Friday, which will be fantastic, and when my mom comes back up she's going to bring her toll paints and I'm going to make a chair-rail height border of blocks of different colours picked out of the quilt. I'll take pictures when it's done, but it looks pretty good already, just being all neat. Diapers in the closet, lotions and potions in a basket organiser, clothes and blankets washed and put away. The crib is currently filled with stuffed animals, which is sort of funny because there can't be any in there once the baby does arrive, but it just looked so empty before. We need to get a mattress protector apparently, although I've heard that a couple of blankets under the fitted sheet will do nicely. We also have a couple of washable changing pads that would work perfectly, we'd just have to get a couple more. Understandably, everything is slow going, since I'm not really supposed to be doing anything, I have to everything in very small doses at a very slow pace. I'm actually feeling though, other than the name thing (the fact that we don't have one for this poor little guy), that we're pretty ready for things to happen. It's strange, because I am very much aware that neither of us can really be anywhere near ready for the enormous changes that are going to happen, but I feel like I've done all I can, and we're basically as ready as we're going to be. The whole, labour thing is still freaking me out a bit, and I did end up missing my 'comfort measures' class, but Amy (my pregnant friend) told me it was basically a waste of time, and that the only useful info she really got was how many people you're allowed to have in the delivery room with you. 2 in Moncton, if anyone was wondering.
I think I'll give the Fredericton hospital a call and see if they have any classes coming up later, but then I suppose there's no real point until I know if / when I'm going to be no longer on bedrest. I would like to know about the people in the delivery room thing though, I would assume 2 here as well..and about there pain relief options. The main ones in Moncton are demerol, the gas (I have no idea what it's called, similar to laughing gas but with pain relief as well) and the epidural. I've never had demerol, but a lot of people have a bad (barfing) reaction to it, and they said that people who have reactions to other pain medications often react negatively to the gas as well. Which leaves...the epidural. I'm not really pleased with those options, I have to say. Good thing Mom is taking those classes on how to get through labour, at least one of us will know what the hell is going on. I'm just not crazy about a needle in my spine which paralyzes me from my waist down. Silly, perhaps. It has nothing to do with wanting to be tough or a 'real woman' or any such foolishness, I just would rather try other things. I say this now, I may be in there for like an hour and and be like, "GIVE ME THE DRUGS YOU MOTHER F*@!^$!", and I'm ok with that. My official 'birth plan', thus, is to take it as it comes, and make sure somebody tells me when I'm nearing the point of no return as far as the big gun drugs go. Sketchy plan, perhaps, but it sounds good to me.
The bed / couch rest hasn't killed me yet, I now have tv and internet, and kitties to keep me company. I've started reading the DaVinci Code, and it's pretty interesting, so I'm looking forward to finishing it. My mom loaned me the deluxe illustrated edition, it's pretty swanky. I have lots of books and movies, but mostly I just laze around and watch tv. Grant is renting us a movie for tonight, but it's a surprise; I'm not allowed to look up what came out. So exciting! I was telling Erin, the first things I'm going to do when I get off this resting thing are to go to Tingley's for ice cream, and Superstore for a bit of a wander. We need a shower caddy, and they have really nice stainless steel ones for like $10 there, and also a soap pump. Mine had an accident on a particularly hormonal day in Moncton. It was ceramic, and never really pumped all that well, and did not survive its crash landing into the sink after my refilling it and it refusing to pump soap out after about 3 minutes of my trying. What can you do? Buy a plastic one next time!
Ok, this is really long. 35 weeks tomorrow! wooh! Would it be really wrong of me to just decide that 36 weeks is enough, and take myself off bedrest next Wednesday? I have a really strong feeling that nothing is going to happen anyway, just becuase that's the way things work out.
random updates: I haven't heard from my new doctor yet, so we'll see how that goes.
My tattoos are fine, basically. The one on my back has no idea that anything's even going on, nor would you if you caught a quick glimpse of me walking away from you. Except for the slight duck-walk. The one on my hip has moved over, and, I'll be honest with you, I can't really see it all that well, but seems to be faring pretty well. I hate it anyway, it was poorly done even after I made them re-do it. Then it seemed silly to keep going back to the same place (they guarantee their work, and thus would have kept 'fixing' it) when they clearly do shitty work. Someday I'll have it removed or gone over or something.
No comments:
Post a Comment