Friday, February 11

testing, testing

so I had my 2nd profile scan today. Turns out I have more fluid than last week! That's fantastic. Not really. Where before the level wasn't enough to worry about, it may be now, especially if it's going to keep going up. My doctor hasn't been in to talk to me yet, he'll be around in the morning. Possibilities remain either nothing, if the level still acceptable, removal of some of the fluid via an amniocentisis needle and IV, or rupturing of the membranes whenever I get far enough along that they feel I can have the baby. Woohoo! I'm not crazy about options B and C, I'll be honest, so hopefully it won't come to that.

My family doctor was in to visit today, she does rounds on Fridays. She told me that her sister was on bedrest from 23 to 34 weeks, when she was pregnant with twins. At 34 weeks they sent her home on bedrest, and at 36 weeks they told her to do whatever the hell she wanted (daily activities, sex etc.). I said wow, sex at 36 weeks pregnant with twins, that's a GREAT suggestion. lol.

The other night I had a dream that my water broke but I didn't go into labour. This afternoon I had a dream that my cats had somehow escaped from Grant's parents' house and come to find us in Fredericton. They're very clever, especially since they've never been to our place in Fredericton. Anyway, the moral of the story is that I thought perhaps that first one was a premonition type dream, but clearly I'm just having strange dreams due to being cooped up in here too long.

I officially gave notice to school that I'm not coming back. I told the vp that in the first place, but she wanted to wait and make sure. Some more of my coworkers stopped in today at lunch and filled me in on all the me-related gossip. There wasn't much, but it was kind of funny. Apparently the word was that I was totally intent on coming back for the 2 weeks between getting out of here and going on mat. leave. Clearly that one was started by someone who doesn't know me very well, since anyone who does would understand that I just wouldn't want to do that. The other rumour was that I wasn't able to get incoming calls because it was too hard on my high blood pressure. I guess somebody must have called during the half hour that my phone wasn't working a few days back, and it was saying that my phone wasn't set up to accept incoming calls. How that got turned into me needing a reprieve from harassing phone calls on account of my high bp...I'm not sure. As one woman said, who are these people calling you and getting your pressure up?! I said that no, I'm fully NOT intending on going anywhere but home or to labour&delivery when I get out of here, and that I have never in my life had high bp. It's generally low, and has been quite low a few times since I've been pregnant. So I got that all straightened out and told the secretary that people can call me anytime.

Now, I must whine. Why not make this the longest post ever? I had really hoped to have the time before the baby came to get things ready. We were going to get all moved up to Fredericton, and I was going to have time to putter around, get things organised, paint the baby's room and get all that stuff settled. Most of that is being taken care of by Grant and his parents and friends, which is fantastic. His parents actually went and spent a day in Fredericton to get things organised and put away, put together the crib and dresser, that kind of thing. While that's absolutely great, I really wanted to have some part in it too. I'm a pretty creative cat and had fully planned to do up the baby's room, but I've never even seen our new apartment, let alone the nursery. I can't very well be out looking at paint chips and fabrics for curtains from here. I feel like I'll be moving into somebody else's apartment, and I don't even know that I'll get to do that on my own, before the baby arrives. It's just little things, but when you have nothing else to do but sit around and think about stuff, the little things really start to get to you. I don't want to be trying to find cups and which drawer the sleepers are in while trying to figure out how exactly to go about this whole, raising a baby thing. Mostly I'm feeling sorry for myself, and then I start to feel bad because this is the best thing for the baby, and I'm a total bitch for wishing I could just be done with the whole bedrest thing.

That'll do for now.

No comments: