Thursday, February 10

frustrating

alright. Day 11 of a theoretical 17. I know almost nothing more than I did when I got in here. I ask questions, but they can't tell me anything until after my scans tomorrow and Wednesday, and until they 'reassess' me (and my parts) sometime next week. From what I've gathered from the doctors, nurses, and internet, babies born at 34 weeks are a-ok; doctors won't try to stop labour that starts after 34 weeks, whereas they would any time before that. I've also gathered that since I do have this excess of amniotic fluid, if my water were to break on its own, and I were like, at home, there's a danger of the baby's umbilical cord or something else being pulled down first, instead of the head.

edit: apparently, as of Friday, I had not tooo alarming an amount, just more than normal, so they're not worried about the whole cord prolapse thing. good news.

That said, I'm none too confident that I'll be sent anywhere other than the Fredericton hospital on my supposed release day of next Wednesday. Apparently what's sometimes done is that they will go ahead and break your water so that it's controlled and nothing bad happens. I don't know *when* they would do that though, or if my situation warrants that. Hopefully after tomorrow I'll be able to find out a bit more at least about that. They're also going to scan the baby next week to make sure he's swallowing ok; apparently that's a rare but possible cause of too much fluid, and if there is a problem (again, not likely) it's fixable. I do know that he's making good 'breathing movements', because he gets the hiccups all the time, and I actually got to see him hiccupping on last week's scan. Pretty cool.

The heartbeat is good, and he makes way more than the minimum amount of movements. FYI, it's 10 in 4 hours at this stage, and I get 10 in about 10 minutes a lot of the time. Except at (the baby's) naptime, when I can wake him up either by poking or drinking something cold and / or sweet. I asked about how that works exactly, and it's because the baby's bum or feet are always up against the mother's stomach, so the cold hits them. Kind of neat.

Anyway, I'm off to watch the rest of CSI. Good times. I can watch tv AND surf the net in bed. You're all jealous.

No comments: