Monday, April 21

2 days.

Do you think though? really? I don't. I'm all for it, but I just have my doubts. Grant says Kieran and I should go to town every day, because then if I go into labour (in that like, 3 hour window) I'll be close and he won't have to drive all the way out here to get me. He also suggested I keep my hospital bag in the trunk, to save time. I should stick my camera in Kieran's bag, which is always with us, and then I'll be all set. Except that you can be too prepared, and then nothing happens. Watched pot / uterus and all that. I have been having contractions. The braxton hicks ones all the time, but they don't count. Real ones this time, which is AWESOME. I had some probably 2 weeks ago, then some a couple of nights ago, and then some last night. They hurt, I don't like it. I'd be much more tolerant of the whole thing if they served any purpose other than to wake me up and make me have to pee, but I have to wait until they subside to get out of bed. I'm sleeping with that Snoogle pillow, which is great, but I have it on the edge of the bed, and since Grant is on the other side, I have to climb OVER the snoogle to get the hell out of bed, and it's difficult to do.

Yeah, we're at that stage again folks. The whining and complaining. It's actually not terrible. During the day I feel pretty good for a 9 month pregnant lady. Kieran keeps me very busy, but he's a pretty great guy most of the time, so it's ok. I still am trying not to really think about how a very needy tiny baby will fit into this equation. It just will, so we'll figure it out. I can occasionally catch a nap when he naps, something that I didn't do when I first had Kieran, but that I definitely will if given the golden opportunity now and (it's possible, but unlikely) if he happens to nap at the same time as the baby when she arrives. It's really the nights that are killing me. Kieran has been really hard to get to bed lately, which he's never done before. He just gets up. It's like he's just now figured out that he can get out of bed at night. Before he would just sit up there and yell at us or cry, but he'd stay in bed. Now he gets up. Sometimes every 3 minutes for an hour. We've tried several things, and the thing that works best for us seems to be just go up, tuck him in again, leave. There is minimal interaction, but I can't just ignore him, or he gets even more upset and gets up more. So I tell him, every time, that it's bedtime, he has to go to sleep, it's not time to play, no more cuddles, whatever he's asking for, and leave. Last night he only got up 3 times, which is really good considering what we've had some nights this past 2 weeks or so.

The fact that I'm not sleeping very well once he stays in bed and we go to bed isn't helping. I can't sleep on my back, and am not supposed to, but I probably would if it were comfortable. It's not, I feel like I'm being crushed. But it does make my hips feel better. When I sleep on my side, my hips are hopelessly sore. No-win. The best I can come up with is sort of a halfway between back and side on that stupid snoogle pillow.

Anyway. I'll keep you posted, I promise! I appreciate that this time I don't have people asking me EVERY DAY if I've had a baby yet. That's pretty annoying. I promise I'll tell you.

No comments: