The story, in short form. It's not really a long story anyway.
Tuesday morning I woke up at about 3am having some contractions. These were not the Braxton-Hicks "may sometimes be uncomfortable or even painful" contractions, they were real. But, happening anywhere from 10 minutes to almost an hour apart, so completely useless and just, well, a pain. Did that all day. Had a pretty good day regardless, took Kieran for a playdate until he about collapsed into a psychotic rage from fatigue. Took him home, he fell asleep in the car, but naturally did not sleep once we got home. So, up since 3 and no nap. Awesome. In pain. Even better. I thought they might be going away, and since I had 2 friends who both experienced false labour days or weeks before the real deal, I was trying to ignore it and just assumed it would go away. Labour did not agree with my plan. They finally got regular around 7:30, while I was lying down and Grant was putting Kieran to bed. Naturally. So at 8-ish we called Grant's parents, got our stuff together, and headed to the hospital with a not sleeping and pretty excited to go to town at night Kieran in tow. Got me all checked in, and Tiresa came to stay with me so Grant could take Kieran home to bed and wait for his parents to arrive. So from 9 until 11:30 Tiresa and I hung out, snuck downstairs to get a juice and a granola bar (I had half a bagel for supper, I was starving) and then regretted that since it made me sick. I guess the nurses were right. Also I drank the whole juice in about 28 seconds, that might have had something to do with it. Anyway. They weren't so good about the phentenol this time. They were giving it to me about every 15-20 minutes rather than every 5, which is what it takes for it to make any real difference. It doesn't even really make the pain go away, but it dulls it every so slightly and makes you loopy, so you just don't care so much. 11:30 the doctor came in and I had gone from 2-3 to 6cm, so he decided to break my water. Did that at 11:50, just after Grant got back. Tiresa left, since we were likely in for a bit of a wait after that. Not so! At some point soon after that, I had to push. I had no idea how dilated I was, but for those of you who have had babies, I really couldn't do much about it. So I had maybe 2 contractions of pushing but trying not to, and then one where they finally told me I could push, and lo and behold...
Willow Jenny Roach
8lbs 5oz
April 23 @ 12:16am
I have to say, *during* the 5 minutes of holy hell where I had no drugs whatsoever because it had just been such a gong show and it's hard to medicate a screaming woman, I was pretty unhappy. But, after they got the 'minor arterial bleed' under control, and got poor Willow woken up (I think she was a bit traumatised by the whole thing, she had no time to get ready to come out, she just arrived), everything's great.
That's it. She sleeps A LOT, and we're working on the nursing thing, which is a bit of a challenge because she falls asleep as soon as she's had a bit to eat, and then wakes up hungry, and there's a lot of milk waiting for her because she's not drinking it all at once. We'll figure it out. She's pretty cute. Kieran likes her, and wants to hold her all the time, and gets mad when we won't let him because she's screaming her head off or whatever.
The lady calls.
No comments:
Post a Comment